2024 CNA Awards Call for Nominations

The CNA Awards Committee is seeking nominations for the 2024 CNA Awards. The awards will be presented during the 2024 Membership Assembly Meeting on Sept. 21, 2024.
The deadline for a recipient of a nominations for all award categories is August 19, 2024.
For all award categories, please attach a statement which describes why your nominee should receive the award. Please limit your statement to two double-spaces pages. Please review the criteria listed below before submitting the nomination.

Sara Jarrett Award

Award for contributions to nursing practice and health policy through political and legislative activity.

Marie Ball-Cook Award

Award for contributions to advancing equal opportunities in nursing for members of minority groups.

Carol O'Mera Award

Award for a CNA member who has made sustained contributions to CNA.

CNA Hall of Fame Award

Established to Honor CNA Members whose dedication and achievements have significantly affected the Colorado nursing profession.

DNA Nurse of the Year Award

The DNA Nurse of the Year Awards will continue, with each DNA establishing its own criteria and making its own selection. The DNA Nurses of the Year will be recognized at the Annual Conference.

CNA Leadership Award

Award to recognize a nurse who has served as a leader in CNA through service on the Board of Directors or on a Committee or Task Force.

Emerging Leader Award

Award to recognize an individual who has been a nurse for no more than 10 years and who is emerging as a leader in CNA or a DNA.

CNA Hall of Fame Award

The CNA Hall of Fame was established in 2004 to honor CNA Members whose dedication and achievements have significantly affected the Colorado nursing profession. Nominees for the Hall of Fame may be living or deceased. Criteria for the Hall of Fame are:
  1. The nominee must have demonstrated leadership that affected the health and/or social history of Colorado through sustained, lifelong contributions in or to nursing practice, education, administration, research, economics, or literature. 
  2. The achievements of the nominee must have enduring value to nursing beyond the nominee’s lifetime.
  3. The nominee must have been prepared in a formal nursing program.
  4. The nominee must have worked in or represented Colorado.
  5. The nominee must be or have been a CNA member.

DNA/SIG Nurse of the Year

In addition to these state-level awards, each DNA/SIG is invited to designate a DNA/SIG Nurse of the Year. The DNA/SIG determines the selection of the DNA/SIG Nurse of the year.
Past Award Recipients

Margie Ball-Cook Award

2022: Theresa Nino
2021: Jennifer Allen-Thomas
2020: Dr. Ruby Martinez
2019: Amanda Quintana
2018: Not awarded
2017: Margie Ball-Cook

Sara Jarrett Award

2022: Mary Kershner
2022: Mary Satre
2021: Judith Burke
2020: Dr. Colleen Casper
2019: Laura Mehringer
2018: CJ Cullinan
2017: Sara Jarrett

Carol O’Meara Award

2022: Laura Rosenthal
2021: Dr. Linda Stroup
2020: Not awarded
2019: Christine Schmidt
2018: Dr. Mary Ciambelli
2017: Carol O’Meara

CNA Leadership Award

2022: Shawn Elliott
2021: Dr. Laura Rosenthal
2020: Rebecca Sposato
2019: Donna Strickland
2018: Not awarded
2017: Terry Buxton

Emerging Leader Award

2022: Christina Winchester
2021: Jeanna Brewer
2020: Chelsea Collins
2019: Kyle Mullica
2018: Not awarded
2017: Adam Diese

DNA 16 Nurse of Year Award

2022: CJ Cullinan
2021: Shawn Elliott 
2020: Not awarded
2019: Nan Morgan
2018: CJ Cullinan
2017: Christine McDermott

DNA 20 Nurse of the Year Award

2022: Rita Beam
2021: Betsy Woolf
2020: Not awarded
2019: Linda Stroup
2018: Jean Schroeder
2017: Kathryn Wood